Bargaining units in acute care facilities

The National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) determines what job classes in an acute care hospital vote together in a union election.   Right now, there are 8 distinct bargaining units that the NLRB recognizes:

(1) All registered nurses.

(2) All physicians. 

(3) All professionals except for registered nurses and physicians.

(4) All technical employees. 

(5) All skilled maintenance employees. 

(6) All business office clerical employees.

(7) All guards.

(8) All nonprofessional employees except for technical employees, skilled maintenance employees, business office clerical employees, and guards.